JJ Giltinan Championship, Invitation Race


2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship

Proudly presented by Sydney City Marine

Friday, 28 February 2014

Sydney Harbour





Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton and Scott Babbage showed why the Gotta Love It 7 team is favourite for the 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship, proudly presented by Sydney City Marine, after a good win in the Invitation Race, sailed on Sydney Harbour today.


In a race sailed in a weakening SE breeze, Gotta Love It 7 took the honours by 1m27s from UK skiff Pica, sailed by James Mears, Stewart Mears and Matt Searle, with Fisher & Paykel (Grant Rollerson, Peter Nicholson, Geoff Bauchop) another 26s back in third place.


With the championship proper to begin tomorrow, today’s results were good for the international teams as four countries were featured in the first nine places of the 34-boat fleet.


Asko Appliances (Marcus Ashley-Jones) finished fourth, ahead of USA’s Howie Hamlin on CST Composites, Appliancesonline.com.au (Micah Lane), The Black Dog (Jarrod Simpson, UK), Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel (Jack Macartney) and C-Tech (Alex Vallings, NZ).


Race Dates are:

Saturday                                            1 March                                             Race 1

Sunday                                              2 March                                             Race 2

Tuesday                                             4 March                                             Race 3

Wednesday                                        5 March                                             Race 4

Thursday                                            6 March                                             Race 5

Saturday                                            8 March                                             Race 6

Sunday                                              9 March                                             Race 7


The fleet for the championship:

1   Gotta Love It 7                                             Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton, Scott Babbage

2   Thurlow Fisher Lawyers                                Michael Coxon, Dave O’Connor, Trent Barnabas

3   Mojo Wine                                                  Chris Nicholson, Mike McKensey, Ricky Bridge

4   C-Tech                                                        Alex Vallings, Chris Kitchen, Joshua McCormack

5   Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel                   Jack Macartney, Mark Kennedy, Peter Harris

6   Sydney City Marine                                     David Witt, Tom Clout, Matt Wark

7   Smeg                                                         Nick Press, Dan Phillips, Dave Ewings

8   Yamaha                                                      David McDiarmid, Andrew Archibald, Mark Overington

9   Fisher & Paykel                                           Grant Rollerson, Peter Nicholson, Geoff Bauchop

10 Asko Appliances                                         Marcus Ashley-Jones, James Dorron, Jeronimo Harrison

11 Lumix                                                         Jonathan Whitty, James Hozack, Aron Everett

12 Pica                                                           Jamie Mears, Stewart Mears,Matt Searle

13 CST Composites                                          Howie Hamlin, Mike Martin, Nick Catley

14 Winning Appliances                                     Shane Smith, Shane Dickson, Jake Restall

15 Yandoo                                                        John Winning, Andrew Hay, Jim Beck

16 Appliancesonline.com.au                              Micah Lane, Paul Montague, Tom Anderson

17 Haier Appliances                                         Rick Peacock, Tristan Hutt, Nick Murray

18 Rabbitohs-Kenwood                                     Brett Van Munster, Joel Castle, Kurt Fatouris

19 The Kitchen Maker                                      Will Phillips, Malcolm Page, Cameron McDonald

20 Knight Frank                                                Riley Dean, Matt Coutts, John Little

21 Original Chia                                                Flemming Clausen, Soren Clausen, Kez Cameron

22 De’Longhi-Rabbitohs                                     Simon Nearn, Kieryn Cowan, Keagan York

23 Pure Blonde                                                 Nick Daly, John Walton, James Smithers

24 Black Dog                                                     Jarrod Simpson, Daniel Nixon, John Sweeny

25 Maersk Line                                                 Graham Catley, Matt Randell, Brad Collins

26 Hyde Sails                                                    Jack Grogan, Sam Caslin, Michael Banks

27 Magic Marine                                               Norbetr Peter, Finn Mrugalla, Eike Dietrich

28 Compassforex.com.au                                  Pedro Vozone, Jakub Jankowski, Daniel Watson

29 EuroLink                                                       Friedrich Renner, Christian Meissner, Thomas Eggersdorfer

30 PB Towage                                                   Josh Franklin, Tristan Hamilton, Barry Flanagan

31 Viagogo                                                        Alexandra South, Greg Dixon, James Slee

32 Ilve                                                                Oliver Hartas, Josh Marks, Tim Lake

33 Brisbane 18 Footers                                      Laurie Williamson, Daniel Smith, Nathan Smittmann

34 Layline Automation                                        Skip McCormack, Jody McCormack, Joe Penrod


Frank Quealey
Australian 18 Footers League
2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship
proudly presented by Sydney City Marine
(75 years of the world's greatest 18 Footer Championship)




Centrally located underneath the ANZAC Bridge in Rozelle, Sydney City Marine is one of the most professional and environmentally sound yacht maintenance yards in Australia. Whether you own a recreational powerboat or yacht, a racing yacht or dinghy, a super yacht or commercial vessel, Sydney City Marine can offer you a complete marine service from antifouling, boat detailing, painting and electrical to all repairs and maintenance.
6:30 - 7:30pm




  • 18ft SKIFFS 2014-2015 SEASON RACE PRO..

  • British Olympic Gold Medalist Shirley Robertso..
  • 2014 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship Race 3  MORE

  • 18ft Skiffs 2014 JJ Giltinan Championship,..