Decision of the Protest Committee – Protestor: Winning Group Race 2 JJ Giltinan

2019 JJ Giltinan’s

Decision of the Protest Committee

Protestor: Winning Group – Request for Redress

Race 2 – 3rd March 2019

Facts Found
Winning Group was sailing on stbd tack downwind with three on the wire.
A yacht under propulsion engine and towing a large kayak, was travelling from North to South on a converging course with Winning Group.
Winning group adjusted course to pass astern of the yacht and hailed for the yacht to continue her course.
The yacht suddenly turned towards the North and attempted to cross in front of Winning Group.
Winning Group luffed to avoid the yacht and ragged their spinnaker.
A collision occurred between Winning Group’s spinnaker and rig with the yacht’s rig.
Winning Group sustained significant damage to her spinnaker and rig and retired from the race.
Winning Group checked and confirmed the safety of the crew aboard the yacht.

Conclusion
The yacht was a vessel required to keep out of the way of Winning Group under Colreg Rule 18a (iv)
Winning Group sustained damage due to the actions of a boat not racing that was required to keep clear. 62.1(b)

Decision
Winning group shall be scored points for Race 2 equal to here average of all races excluding race 2, any drop race and Race 9 on the final day.

Protest Committee
Rob Ware IJ, David Tallis IJ, Gary Manuel IU, Simon Barrington NJ
4th March 2019