October 8, 2014

2014-2015 Season Begins Next Sunday

The 2014-2015 Season of 18ft Skiff Racing will begin next Sunday(12 October) when the Australian 18 Footers League stages a 3-Buoys club trophy race on Sydney Harbour.

Seventeen teams have entered for the new season with the reigning champions Seve Jarvin, Sam Newton and Scott Babbage (Gotta Love It 7) the early favourites to retain their titles in the major events later in the season.

Despite the favouritism, Team Seven will be under a lot of pressure from several top teams in new boats and with new equipment.

Thurlow Fisher Lawyers, skippered by former JJ Giltinan and Australian champion Michael Coxon, and Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel (Jack Macartney) have been the biggest threats to ‘7’ in recent seasons and will again be the main challengers in 2014-2015.

Smeg, with a new, but experienced 18 Footer crew to the ‘Smeg’ skiff, Appliancesonline (a new skiff with former Australian champion Micah Lane at the helm), another new skiff Asko Gorenje (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Lumix (Jonathan Whitty) will also be strong contenders.

The current Australian 16 Footer champion Lee Knapton joins the Mojo Wine team, replacing Chris Nicholson, and ensures the team will remain at the pointy end of the fleet.

The experienced Grant Rollerson, who has been skippering 18ft Skiffs for the past decade, joins Simon Nearn’s De’Longhi crew and is expected to give this team a great boost.


Boat Name Player
Thurlow Fisher Lawyers Michael Coxon
Yandoo John Winning
Asko Gorenje Marcus Ashley-Jones
De’Longhi Simon Nearn
Appliancesonline.com.au Micah Lane
Coopers 62-Rag & Famish Hotel Jack Macartney
Gotta Love It 7 Seve Jarvin
Smeg David Witt
Pure Blonde Nick Daly
Mojo Wine Lee Knapton
Lumix Jonathan Whitty
Compassmarkets.com Keagan York
The Kitchen Maker John Sweeny
Noakes Sean Langman
Haier Appliances Pedro Vozone
Ilve Ollie Hartas
Fisher & Paykel Rob Flanagan

Dates for the major championships are

  • JJ Giltina Championship
  • NSW Championship(five races)
  • Australian Championship(Brisbane) 20-23 March

Frank Quealey
Australian 18 Footers League

July 22, 2014

2014-2015 Season Race Program

The Australian 18 Footers League has announced its 18ft Skiff Racing Program for the 2014-2015. Season, which will begin on Sydney Harbour from 12 October.

There are two significant changes to the previous few seasons’ racing.

Firstly, the world’s premier 18ft Skiff event, the JJ Giltinan Championship will be raced from 13-22 February 2015, while the Australian Championship will return to Brisbane, Queensland for the first time in more than 20 years.

Race dates for the Australian Championship are 20-23 March 2015.

A full list of race dates can be downloaded here